Organization of Distinction - Victoria West

2012 Victoria WestBelieve it or not, Victoria West Association Football Club was established all the way back in 1896. Today, now one hundred and sixteen years old Vic West soldiers on, having won four national championships, the Garrison Cup three times, the Vancouver Island championship twice and the Jackson Cup, as champions of the Victoria and District Soccer League 16 times. Vic West also won the Grand Champion Cup in 1902, and the McBride Shield (the first championship of British Columbia) in 1911, and the Province Cup, emblematic of the championship of B.C. in 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982 and 1984. In the years that followed the club's formation, soccer in Victoria grew and teams from the city played in the first Pacific Coast League in 1908, and entertained a team from California in 1909. In 1930, when Glasgow Rangers toured Canada, Scottish F.A. regulations required that they play a club side, and Vic West, being the oldest club in town were chosen. The club continued to play through the Dirty Thirties and the years of World War Two. However, it was not until 1976 that Vic West won its first national championship, beating Winnipeg Fort Rouge in Winnipeg. When Vic West won again in 1979, beating La Salle Olympics from Quebec in Victoria 62, the lineup remained remarkably the same as in 1976. There were some roster changes in 1982 when Saskatoon United fell by 4 goals to 0 in Saskatoon. But the most difficult game came in 1984 against Dundas United, with Dallas Moen scoring the only goal of the game in Victoria. Six players played in all four finals: Jim De Goede, Bill Foster, Steve Forslund, John McGuire, Robbie Williams, and Steve Moss. The club has gone from one boys' team in 1896, to six men's teams and five women's teams in 2012. It's been a long and historic journey for Victoria West, and most certainly a successful one.